Vista Blue – Hit The Floor

Posted by cvance
on February 22, 2020
Hit the Floor was recorded in Memphis at legendary Ardent Studios. Tracks were mixed and mastered by Perry Leenhouts. Recorded at Ardent Studios in Memphis in July 2019. Engineered by Mike Wilson. Mixed/mastered by Perry Leenhouts of Point Break Sound. Richard Bates – guitar, vocals Reese Chism – drums, vocals Mark Crowley – bass, vocals Mike Patton – vocals, guitar, organ
Continue Reading...

LIBRARIANS WITH HICKEYS, “Until There Was You” (BSDS-0061, February 21 2020)

Posted by cvance
on February 20, 2020
The 61st Big Stir Digital Single of the Week is the second “Single of the Week” from Akron Ohio’s LIBRARIANS WITH HICKEYS! “Until There Was You” b/w “And Then She’s Gone” will be available for download Friday, February 21st and this duo of wonderful songs is available for pre order now! Just head on over to
Continue Reading...

Power Pop Overdose Popcast Volume 10

Posted by cvance
on February 19, 2020
This week PPO brings you new music from Gary Ritchie, The Forty Nineteens, Tommy Ray! plus more. We also supply you your weekly dose of classic power pop as well as a little bubble gum, we go Glamp-ng in addition to delivering you some of Milwaukee’s best. Enjoy the music and be sure to support the artists. As always feel free to comment or if you want email us at PPO v10 on Mixcloud
PPO v10 on Apple Podcasts
PPO v10 on Spotify
PPO v10 on Google Play


New and Notable
01 Maybe It’ll Be Tonight – Gary Ritchie
02 It’s For Fun (That’s All We’re Living For) – The Forty Ninteens
03 Blame it on the Satellite – More Kicks
04 Tuesday’s Girl – Tommy Ray!
05 One Less Step – Ken Fox & Knock Yourself Out
I Found Old Bubblegum Under My Chair
06 Gimme Gimme Your Love – Barry & Garry
07 Wig-Wam Bam – The Sweet
08 Alcock and Brown – Balloon Busters
09 Rock & Roll Love Letter – Bay City Rollers
Music From Milwaukee’s Best
10 Radio Ready – The Shivvers
11 Gimme Some Action – RPM’s
12 Wait A Minute – The Pop
13 Hard To Get – The Tyrants
14 180 Degrees – The Wigs
Lets Go Glamping
15 Automatic Style – Creem Circus
16 Dynamite – Hammered Satin
17 Sunny – Stag
18 Rock Show – Ken Sharp
19 Looking For A Guru – Ulysses
Check Out My New Garage
20 Need You Here Tonight – The Kryng
21 Time Flies And Still – Les Grys Grys
22 Time’s Not On My Side – Bobkat’65
23 Never Blue- The Night Times
24 You’ve Got My Number (Why Don’t You Use It) – The Undeertones
25 Don’t Talk To Me – The News
26 Walking Tall – The Continentals
27 Bad Reputation – The dB’s

Continue Reading...

Now Available on Kool Kat / Strand Can’t Trust The Rain

Posted by cvance
on February 18, 2020
Hello Pop Fans! Here to announce a brand new release available on the Kool Kat Musik label on February 21 – “Can’t trust the rain” by Strand! Dublin-based Niall Toner Jr. has created an album that will appeal to fans of Big Star, Teenage Fanclub, and The Cosmic Rough Riders! You can read about/order it here  Niall’s latest music as Strand carries a lot of influences, but in its beating heart lie the ghosts of Gene Clark and the Byrds, Neil Young, Stephen Stills, Big Star, Love, and Gram Parsons, to name a few.  It is as close to Niall’s authentic voice as he has come yet.  On “Can’t Trust The Rain”, Niall is helped by a bunch of extraordinary musicians, including guitarist Ger Kiely, guitarist Duncan Maitland (Slumberjet/Pugwash), producer Les Key (bass), drummer Kevin Malone (Van Morrison) and keyboard player Darragh O’Kelly.
Get it here

Listen to it here

Continue Reading...

Power Pop Overdose Popcast Volume 9 – A Conversation With Kurt Baker

Posted by cvance
on February 12, 2020

This week we have a conversation with Kurt Baker and had a great time hearing about life in Spain, his start in Portland, and his new album. If you haven’t already, be sure to check out Kurt Baker’s website , and if you ever have the opportunity, be sure to catch one of their shows!

Enjoy the Popcast and as always if you have any suggestions or comments or just want to say hey, email us at

PPO v9 on Mixcloud
PPO v9 on Apple Podcasts
PPO v9 on Spotify

Track List

  1. Hit The Ground – Kurt Baker Band
  2. Why You Gotta Lie – Kurt Baker Band
  3. No Ones Home – Kurt Baker Combo
  4. Pack My Bags – Kurt Baker Combo
  5. Can’t Go Back – Kurt Baker Combo
  6. Turning Japanese – Kurt Baker
  7. Don’t Steal My Heart Away – Kurt Baker Band
  8. (I Can’t Help) Falling In Love – Kurt Baker Combo
  9. Girlfriend – The Leftovers
  10. Don’t Gp Falling In Love – Kurt Baker
  11. Beach Boner Bluer – Airbag feat. Kurt Baker
  12. Upside Down – Kurt Baker Combo
  13. She’s Not Sorry – Kurt Baker
  14. Sleeping With The Television On – Kurt Baker
  15. Can’t Have Her Back (Live Feb. 2011) – Kurt Baker
  16. Partied Out – Kurt Baker Band
  17. Can’t Say No – Kurt Baker
  18. Telephone Operator – The Leftovers
  19. She Can Do It All – Kurt Baker
Continue Reading...

Power Pop Overdose Popcast Volume 8

Posted by cvance
on February 5, 2020
This week PPO is bringing you new stuff from emperor penguin, Stepford Knives, Ken Sharp and more.  Additionally you will hear some Brian Wilson influenced tunes as well as some greats from the Beserkley label plus a whole lot more.  Enjoy the Popcast and as always if you have any suggestions or comments or just want to say hey, email us at

PPO v8 on Mixcloud
PPO v8 on Apple Podcast
PPO v8 on Spotify

New and Notable
01 Hello Picasso – emperor penguin
02 Blue in the Face – Stepford Knives
03 Tonight (All I Want) – Ken Sharp
04 Full Of Strange – The Fast Camels
05 I Want You Again – The Weeklings
Surfin the Waves
06 Little Surfer Girl – The Backstreet Angels
07 Surf’s Up – The Malibus
08 She’s_A_Surf_Punk – Surfin’ Lungs
09 Forever – The Explorers Club
Got You Covered
10 Going to a Go-Go – Secret Affair
11 Baby, Don’t You Do It – The Men
12 On a Carousel – Glass Moon
13 The Hard Way – The Knack
14 Time Won’t Let Me – The Smithereens
For The Record
15 Buy this Record – Milk ‘n’ Cookies
16 Record Machine – Creamer
17 Somebody scratched my records – Quant
18 She Has Good Records – Jimmer
How to Achieve the Perfect Twang
19 Miss Operator – The V-Roys
20 It Doesn’t Get Better Than This – Eugene Edwards
21 Don’t Leave Don’t Go – Elvyn
22 Just Friends – Beat Rodeo
I’m Going Beserk-ley
23 Let Her Dance – The Spitballs
24 She Cracked – The Modern Lovers
25 It’s A Tall Order For a Short Guy – Earth Quake
26 Lightning Love Affair – The Rubinoos
27 Roarunner – Greg Kihn

Continue Reading...